Customer Reviews

Anders Hansen
Anders Hansen
20:09 28 Jun 22
Classdiving Sierra Leone, have used the Cygnus instruments, namely the Cygnus 1 since the 90s, and Cygnus Dive since 2017. The instruments are both very strong in use,... and can take all a commercial put at them, our Cygnus 1, we bought in 2005, have been a true workhorse, with the accuracy promised. The Cygnus Dive is just the perfect tool, and allow you to measure using 1 arm, and have the other to grasp what ever to hold, and then the topside repeater is just working flawless and designed pro. The other new advanced add on, is the Oled screen to screw on a Bandmask or Helmet form Kirby, but using a little skill, it also goes on a AGA MK 2 FFM. The Diver can see the result in very mirky conditions, maybe later this feature will get larger digits and in color. Clients are quite impressed of the instruments, and Diving companies using them, should make sure to both write and add the Cygnus GA and add picture of the instrument in use, that gives the reports the right angle and seriousness. We have an ongoing yearly UTM of an African Port structure of 1 km, we inspect, and results are accurate. I remember a job in Kingston Harbour Jamaica in 1996, where the client made me drill out, with a hole drill samples of sheetpiles, to be measured with manual gauges.Cygnus can in future upgrade the battery casing on the Dive to be closed. We just have both our Cygnus to test and repair, and the turn around repair and check was 10 days, Good instrument, strong and last your career.read more
Yves CHARDARD
Yves CHARDARD
13:23 24 Mar 22
A trusted supplier, with a wide range of high-end products and unfailing technical support. Looking forward to continuing a fruitful and long lasting cooperation !
Santosh Gavankar
Santosh Gavankar
05:48 17 Mar 22
One of the best, rugged, accurate and easy to use Thickness Meters that operators always feel good about. We have also used Cygnus Dive for one of the offshore projects... and were fully satisfied with the performance.read more
js_loader

G Goodman

Aug 17, 2021 9:58 AM

Product : Cygnus DIVE Underwater Tester
View Product

The Cygnus DIVE was simple to use and, like all Cygnus kit, it was good and rugged. The large display was excellent – and clearly visible even in darker water. Readings were easy to take and snapped up on the screen quickly -which makes our job as divers so much easier. The twin crystal probes were particularly useful on areas of very heavy corrosion.

Tony D.

Mar 31, 2021 1:15 PM

Product : Cygnus Hatch Sure for Ships
View Product

This is a super piece of kit, the Cygnus Hatch Sure ultrasonic hatch cover leak detector combined with our procedures and experience certainly helped in gaining Geo Therm Ltds aproval for service supplier status with LR and ABS.

Tony D.

Mar 31, 2021 11:32 AM

Product : Cygnus Hatch Sure
View Product

A super piece of kit, and our go to detector when performing yacht hatch and door ultrasonic leak detection testing.

Louis P.

Nov 25, 2020 1:36 PM

Product : Cygnus FMD System for ROV
View Product

The new Cygnus Ultrasonic FMD System was perfect for our recent application. Our technicians found the software to be very easy to use with features that ensured a quick and reliable result. It’s a great addition to the Westerton Access capability, offering FMD inspection from the Falcon ROV.

Louis P

Nov 25, 2020 11:27 AM

Product : Cygnus FMD System for Diver
View Product

The new Cygnus Ultrasonic FMD System was perfect for our recent application. Our technicians found the software to be very easy to use with features that ensured a quick and reliable result. It’s a great addition to the Westerton Access capability, offering FMD inspection from the Falcon ROV

George G.

Nov 4, 2020 1:01 PM

Product : Cygnus ROV Mountable
View Product

I have used Cygnus UT systems for many years and to me they deliver what’s required for quick and reliable results. As we move even more towards ROV based operations, having a cost-effective wall thickness capability is a key component in our service offering- and Cygnus does just that!

Tony D.

Jun 4, 2020 1:16 PM

Product : Cygnus Hatch Sure for Ships
View Product

A super piece of kit, and our go to detector when performing yacht hatch and door ultrasonic leak detection testing.

Jagdeep S.

May 19, 2020 10:28 AM

Product : Cygnus 1 Intrinsically Safe
View Product

Last weekend we urgently needed an Ex Rated machine to attend a vessel in Antwerp .It was Thursday evening , urgent job, as they always are , and we realize our existing machines are out on the field. I sent one whatsapp mssg to Ribu Samuel K. and Chih Ju WEI at Cygnus , our trusted partners for 20 years in supplying UTM equipment ( our first machine purchased 20 years ago is still working ) , 36 hrs later we had our machine in Rotterdam office. The PO’s the RFQ’s the payments all looked after themselves in due course. Take a bow guys , bloody marvelous.

Mr Hernandez

May 6, 2020 11:06 AM

Product : Cygnus 6+ PRO
View Product

We tried the gauge on steel components of civil structures and it gives really accurate readings.

Mr Monsores

May 6, 2020 9:53 AM

Product : Cygnus 4+ General Purpose
View Product

I have already used CYGNUS equipment, they are practical equipment and with excellent response in thickness measurements. Very good brand.

Santosh G.

Apr 23, 2020 1:11 PM

Product : Cygnus Underwater UT Tester
View Product

There are many in the industry who have been using Cygnus meters for more than 20 years. I myself have used their underwater thickness gauge along with regular and Intrinsically Safe UT meters from the early stages of my career – and that goes back to more than 25 years for sure. TechCorr, a global leader of inspection services, uses Cygnus Gauges for pipelines, tanks and vessel inspections. Our operators particularly love Cygnus – as readings come quick and accurate.

Santosh G.

Apr 23, 2020 10:36 AM

Product : Cygnus 1 Intrinsically Safe
View Product

There are many in the industry who have been using Cygnus meters for more than 20 years. I myself have used their underwater thickness gauge along with regular and Intrinsically Safe UT meters from the early stages of my career – and that goes back to more than 25 years for sure. As a global leader of inspection services, we use Cygnus Gauges for pipelines, tanks and vessel inspections. Our operators particularly love Cygnus – as readings come quick and accurate.

Dale B.

Apr 23, 2020 9:52 AM

Product : Cygnus 4+ General Purpose
View Product

Having owned and operated the Cygnus models two and three I recently upgraded to the Cygnus 4+. Cygnus has always been a brand to associate with reliable and accurate UTM readings, and working for a number of high-profile clients and MCA classification societies this accuracy is mandatory. The Cygnus 4+ is not only small and light weight, it is also wrist mounted to keep your hands free. The added functions are endless, and you can add comments in for single readings and also add additional readings (outside of the pre-determined grid) in as you are conducting the survey. This is very useful if defect areas are identified as they can be clearly documented on the spot, rather than having to return after the record is completed. The back-office software is user friendly and has plenty of fields for extra information that can be added apparent to the vessel. After having a demonstration of the Cygnus 4+ at the 2019 Seawork show I ordered the unit the following day. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable, and the unit arrived promptly. The Cygnus 4+ has helped me become more time efficient and produces a very informative report that is well accepted within the industry.

Jagdeep S.

Apr 23, 2020 9:48 AM

Product : Cygnus 4 General Purpose
View Product

Thank you Cygnus. You have been awesome in your support on ALL our inspections for over 20 years. 60 machines including our first machine bought 20 years ago (Cygnus 4, Sr. No 300), are all still in operation. That is a testament to Cygnus’ quality engineering and electronics.

Blagoja S.

Oct 1, 2019 11:03 AM

Product : Cygnus 6+ PRO
View Product

We have purchase 4 pcs. of Cygnus 4+ UTG Kit and 1 pcs. of Cygnus 6+ UTG Kit. With these instruments we have check more that 3.000.000 points on coated steel pipe. Results were among expected. We are more than satisfied with equipment.

Blagoja S.

Oct 1, 2019 9:52 AM

Product : Cygnus 4+ General Purpose
View Product

We have purchase 4 pcs. of Cygnus 4+ UTG Kit and 1 pcs. of Cygnus 6+ UTG Kit. With these instruments we have check more that 3.000.000 points on coated steel pipe. Results were among expected. We are more than satisfied with equipment.

Anders P.

Jul 1, 2019 1:11 PM

Product : Cygnus Underwater UT Tester
View Product

Since my purchase of the Cygnus 1 Underwater gauge in 2005, I have had no problem with the gauge, and it’s still going strong after 14 years of use by divers, completing many underwater inspections across countries in Africa and Europe. There were times where it wasn’t easy to get readings on odd surfaces or through small marine growth, but we succeeded eventually.

Ben E.

Mar 21, 2019 11:56 AM

Product : Cygnus 2+ Hands Free
View Product

Haven't had it long (9 months) but seems reliable and robust, despite being an older model (MK3)

Fernando L.

Mar 21, 2019 11:55 AM

Product : Cygnus 2+ Hands Free
View Product

Cygnus 2 Hands free is very suitable for UT inspections at hullworks.

Nick V.

Apr 4, 2018 9:48 AM

Product : Cygnus 4 General Purpose
View Product

I am very pleased with our Cygnus 4 ultrasonic thickness gauge. It works very well, it’s reliable, easy to use and feels like a good quality piece of kit that is well worth the price.

Anthony B.

Jan 26, 2018 9:56 AM

Product : Cygnus 1 Intrinsically Safe
View Product

Intrinsically Safe is reliable, easy to use and accurate

Diana R.

Jan 26, 2018 9:56 AM

Product : Cygnus 1 Intrinsically Safe
View Product

It is an old gauge (intrinsically safe) but keeps working well.

Nick V.

Jan 26, 2018 9:47 AM

Product : Cygnus 4 General Purpose
View Product

Very good and very pleased

Lester B.

Jan 25, 2018 9:55 AM

Product : Cygnus 1 Intrinsically Safe
View Product

I really like this piece of equipment, very reliable, I do recommended to others, specially to use on oil and gas plants, I been using my for over 10 years, right now I’m looking forward to purchase a next one, probably I will go with same type since not really hard with calibration, is true a little awkward to use on such position, like hanging or under pipelines. But not a big deal.

David B.

Jan 2, 2018 9:45 AM

Product : Cygnus 2+ Hands Free
View Product

Very pleased with the instrument.

Orçun Ç.

Dec 26, 2017 11:31 AM

Product : Cygnus Hatch Sure
View Product

Device is working very well, we have used many devices but this one is far ahead from others.

Orçun Ç.

Dec 26, 2017 10:00 AM

Product : Cygnus Hatch Sure for Ships
View Product

Device is working very well, we have used many devices but this one is far ahead from others.

André L.

Aug 1, 2017 1:33 PM

Product : Cygnus W1 Probe Handler
View Product

We have used the probe handler W1 on a few projects in the North Sea and Baltic Sea with our ROV Panther XTP and it has proved to be a very useful and productive tool allowing us to carry out a UT reading within seconds whether it was probing a flat surface or a rounded surface, due to its design it is the perfect handle for subsea UT probing.

J D Howard

Jun 20, 2017 9:51 AM

Product : Cygnus 4+ General Purpose
View Product

I have used the gauges extensively, often in awkward places where the gauges often take a beating, as well as occasionally getting wet; but the Cygnus gauges have proven to be robust and reliable. The 4+ meter is very light and easy to carry and has the option to use single crystal or twin crystal transducers, which allows me the ability to measure through thick coatings in deep coat mode, as well heavily corroded metals. When taking measurements with this meter I have found it to be accurate with repeatable results. The 4+ gauges we use at JDH allow us to see a clear, simple A-Scan as measurements are taken – which in turn allows us to verify measurements. I can also log my measurement [together with the A-scans] and easily transfer them into reports for clients, which is very beneficial. I am pleased to say that I have always received excellent service from Cygnus Instruments and I will continue to use their products, as I know I have a reliable, robust tool that I can genuinely trust.

Rafael M.

May 31, 2017 11:54 AM

Product : Cygnus 2+ Hands Free
View Product

Believe it or not in the company that I belong to, we have an old one Cygnus 2 (single crystal) since 1990 or less, we compare to other devises that we have and confiability of Cygnus is incredible, there are certain surface that other can not measure. And our Cygnus has not the possibility to calibrate but when we test with the test block always is correct.

Jim P.

May 24, 2017 9:51 AM

Product : Cygnus 4+ General Purpose
View Product

We approached Cygnus in late 2016 as a result of discovering areas of corrosion in our vessel Lord Nelson in an area specific to the design allowing for disabled access – the watertraps. These areas act to prevent the ingress of water into the vessel given that we can’t have door sills due to the flat sill required for wheelchairs. Given the age of Lord Nelson, now over 30 years old, it was agreed that to have our own NDT test instrument, while not negating the need for formal Lloyds’ testing, would allow us to keep a check on corrosion and give us a level of confidence as and when areas were discovered. Cygnus kindly offered advice and supplied a Cygnus 4+ Ultrasonic Multi-Mode Thickness Gauge kit including both single and dual crystal probes. Despite our own relative inexperience in such testing, the results we obtained were confirmed by professional spot testing and proved easy to achieve, the device being simple to calibrate and use, with both probe types.

Hashem B.

May 11, 2017 9:47 AM

Product : Cygnus 4 General Purpose
View Product

Reliable, accurate and easy to operate

Agboola O.

Apr 24, 2017 11:07 AM

Product : Cygnus 6+ PRO
View Product

first time I believed is going to perform well

Ammar M.

Apr 20, 2017 1:20 PM

Product : Cygnus Hatch Sure for Ships
View Product

Item was used with total satisfaction, we shall keep in touch for further purchases soon.

Ammar M.

Apr 20, 2017 11:29 AM

Product : Cygnus Hatch Sure
View Product

Item was used with total satisfaction, we shall keep in touch for further purchases soon.

Aquilino D.

Mar 28, 2017 12:54 PM

Product : Cygnus DIVE Underwater Tester
View Product

Regarding the MK-2 this has been working very good and we did over 1.000 readings with the same battery on two different days; we are completing a serial of surveys on pontoon ferries with a total of 4,000 readings and so far we are very happy with the device performance.

Ricky T.

Mar 27, 2017 11:04 AM

Product : Cygnus 6+ PRO
View Product

Getting to grips with it, it's had a little use I think it's showing about 20hrs on the opening screen. I like the new style and display also like the wrist mount. Not used the data logging yet but I am sure I will. A pleasure to do business with you and I am sure I will be back again in the future.

Aquilino D.

Mar 14, 2017 12:55 PM

Product : Cygnus DIVE Underwater Tester
View Product

We have used the equipment with very good results on a job so far.

Lester

Aug 21, 2016 9:46 AM

Product : Cygnus 4 General Purpose
View Product

Nice

Leslie L.

Aug 12, 2016 10:43 AM

Product : Cygnus 1 Intrinsically Safe
View Product

This will certainly be useful in the inspection and maintenance of our shipping industry.

Stewart D.

Jul 18, 2016 11:05 AM

Product : Cygnus 6+ PRO
View Product

I would like to express our appreciation regarding Cygnus' support during a recent umbilical manufacturing verification project. Your customer service was exemplary and we are impressed by the legibility of the readout on the Mk5 gauge. On appraising Cygnus of the background to our requirement, the equipment was despatched and received the next day. Its ease of use means that we will certainly call upon you for any further such requirements. Thanks for your assistance.

Graeme S.

Feb 17, 2016 10:45 AM

Product : Cygnus 1 Intrinsically Safe
View Product

I love this machine. Even for corroded areas, it has proven to be reliable. I like the fact that you can change the Db settings to enable better penetration and sensitivity on corroded surfaces. We have to use Ex certified equipment in the offshore oil and gas industry which makes this UTM gauge ideal. I would give it an 8/10. (Only because it’s design makes it awkward to use when the operator is using Rope Access as a means of carrying out the inspection.)

Dimitrios Y.

Dec 2, 2015 9:50 AM

Product : Cygnus 4+ General Purpose
View Product

We tested the New Cygnus UTM Instruments 2+ and 4+ using single & twin crystals probes. Tests carried out in our premises and in real working conditions on a 15 years old cargo ship of 10.000 M.Tns. In our premises we used the following samples, which have been obtained from ships; cropped plates and we use them in our premises for practice purposes. 1.New Coated Steel Plate 10.0 mm. 2.Extremely corroded on both sides Steel Plate, with thickness variation from 4.6 mm to 9.7 mm. Taken gaugings were verified with Outside Callipers. 3.Gray Cast 12.0 mm. 4.Aluminium 6.0 mm. On the Cargo Ship we focused our tests on the non-coated Inner Bottom Plating of 16.0 mm original thickness. We got about 100 gaugings which varied between 15.8 mm to 14.4 mm. All readings, in both tests, were obtained instantly and it should be mention that the new measuring experience with MSI System gave to us a real confidence that the reading we see is the real remaining thickness on that spot. Apart the user-friendly, high analysis coloured LCD screen and the very easy menu we consider quite important to mention that once we took the instrument in our hands we got an immediate impression of the unit being very rugged. Its tight case together with the strong cable and its twin lemo locking connector allow the operator to focus only to the gauging without worrying at all about the machine.

MARUTEC

Dec 2, 2015 9:44 AM

Product : Cygnus 2+ Hands Free
View Product

We were asked to test the New Cygnus UTM Instruments 2+ and 4+, using their single and twin crystals probes. Tests carried out in our premises on specially prepared samples and in real working conditions on a 15 years old dry cargo ship of 10.000 M.Tns. Both instruments, apart they are well designed, they proved to be fast and accurate. The gauging confirmation through the new measuring experience of MSI System, was a pleasant surprise. User-friendly with high analysis full coloured LCD screen and very easy menu. The strong tight case together with the strong cable and its twin lemo locking connector give the immediate impression of the unit being very rugged.

Peter H.

Nov 8, 2015 12:55 PM

Product : Cygnus DIVE Underwater Tester
View Product

We used the 5MHz dual crystal as it gave the best results on the pitted steel we found on the many corroded ships hulls where we tried the UT gauge. The DIVE was reliable, very easy to use, has simple menu system and displays. The logging function was essential as we only had 13 minutes on the wreck each day; I could make lots of measurements and figure out the answer back home in post processing, we also didn’t have to write anything down or think too much as thinking isn’t so easy in 40m water with the effects of narcosis!

Wagner C.

Sep 30, 2015 1:20 PM

Product : Cygnus Hatch Sure for Ships
View Product

I’m pleased to inform you that this month I completed the one hundred and twentieth vessels inspection and I’m entirely satisfied with the Cygnus Hatch Sure equipment.

Wagner C.

Sep 30, 2015 11:30 AM

Product : Cygnus Hatch Sure
View Product

I'm pleased to inform you that this month I completed the one hundred and twentieth vessels inspection and I'm entirely satisfied with the Cygnus Hatch Sure equipment.

James M.

May 16, 2015 1:03 PM

Product : Cygnus ROV Mountable
View Product

This is to testify that over the last 23 years of working offshore I have come across Cygnus instruments both as a Diver and as an ROV supervisor. As a diver I held a CSWIP 3.2u Subsea inspection qualification for 10 years. During the last 13 years I have had occasion to be involved with the ROV mountable systems on two occasions. In both instances the probe and Subsea housing were fitted to work class vehicles. The systems were able to take UT readings to client satisfaction. On one setup we attached the probe to a 7 function manip (T3) which gave us extra options whilst trying to take readings on non vertical or variable angled faces. The system is designed to ensure that it will only display correct readings. In other words you either get a correct reading or no reading at all. Reading through hard marine growth is not practical. Reading through soft marine growth or protective coatings presents no real issues. From operational experience am aware that all readings eliminate the coating thickness so only the true metal thickness is displayed. Should I need to specify an Ultrasonic digital thickness gauge for Subsea ROV use I would choose either the Cygnus -1000m* or the -3000m* ROV mountable gauge depending on operational depth. The -3000m* unit of course will work shallow or deep, so is probably a better all round option for future project use. *1000m and 3000m are previous models. Available now is the 2000m model.

D.Miller

Jan 9, 2015 1:12 PM

Product : Cygnus Underwater UT Tester
View Product

I received the Cygnus 1 in 1987 and used it continuously for 10 years on submerged pipelines, without any problems. After that period it was mainly used for ship board survey inspections of hull thickness testing which is still in use today with the same set of batteries. I cannot praise this piece of equipment enough as it has given unbeatable service in extremely hostile environments without failing at any time. I would recommend this unit to anyone looking for a reliable ultrasonic thickness testing unit.

Review us on Google

Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. Help us improve what we do!

Leave A Review

Review our Products

Your views are key to our success! Share your experience about Cygnus equipment.

Select your products